Send Topic Print
CR V9.0 (Read 1279 times)
RDS18
Browser

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

CR V9.0
02/04/03 at 12:09:21

CR 9.0 seems to be unable to to talk to DBA.  When opening the DDF (in the company subdirectory), CR9.0 takes about 5-7 minutes to list files.  Also, any report with more than 1 selection criteria bombs 9.0.

Same reports in CR 8.x work fine.

CR 9.0 has no problem with Pervasive sample DB or its own sample DB.

DBA tech support has no response to this.

Any thoughts?

IP Logged
chrisk
Browser

I don't work here.
I'm a consultant.

Re: CR V9.0
Reply #1 - 02/04/03 at 22:27:39

One thought...7.0 was the last good version. Wink

Was version 9.0 purchased from Pervasive or retail?

Database connections are definately trickier with Pervasive 2000.  Have you tried ODBC vs native BTrieve connections when building a report?

--Chris

I pretend to work. They pretend to pay me.
Email WWW   IP Logged
Tim Keating

DBA CLASSIC WIN 2000
C/S

Reply #2 - 02/10/03 at 11:06:15

I agree with Chris that 7.0 was the last version that works well as a report writer with DBA/Pervasive.

Problem is, you can't buy it anymore as far as I can tell.  Trying to help someone out, I searched high and low in the software clearing houses and had no luck.  Maybe someone else knows.

MS Access is a good option for someone starting out and would probably be the best bet in the long run.

I'm staying with Crystal 7 as long as I can because I like the built-in formulas.

Tim Keating
Motor Guard Corporation
Email WWW   IP Logged
chrisk
Browser

I don't work here.
I'm a consultant.

Reply #3 - 02/10/03 at 20:46:29

My chief complaint with later versions of CRW (8+)is the missing compiler that you have to download from the Seagate Website...with it's attendant warnings that someday it is going to disappear altogether and you better buy their bloated Web solution for report distribution....no thanks. undecided