Welcome, Guest. Please Login.
05/03/24 at 00:43:34
News:
Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Exporting tables into Access (Read 4713 times)
davson
Browser

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

Exporting tables into Access
08/31/04 at 12:42:18

Hi everyone, I'm new to this so bare with me.

We are thinking about exporting DBA tables into Access in order to generate more useful reports. I have never done this before and I was after some helpful tips and advice.

IP Logged
Skeptical
Browser

Out! Out! Demons of
stupidity - Dogbert

Re: Exporting tables into Access
Reply #1 - 09/01/04 at 05:24:29

Unless there is a particular need to actually transfer the data to Access, I would recommend linking Access to DBA instead.  Maintaining two copies of your data can be a pain and often requires nightly imports which can leave your reporting data as much as 24hrs out of date with the live DBA data.

Use an ODBC DSN to link the DBA tables into Access instead of actually transferring them over.  As far as reporting, querying and coding Access, this method functions almost identical to having the tables imported.

Email WWW   IP Logged
davson
Browser

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

Reply #2 - 09/01/04 at 06:17:26

Thanks for your help 'Skeptical'. That idea sounds much better than want I was going to do. Do you know how I go about getting the ODBC DSN setup? Would I set that up from within Access? I also have no idea how I link the tables together with DBA. Is there an option meni within DBA to do this? Sorry for all this questions I am very new at this. Thanks again.  Grin

IP Logged
Kelloggs

Do crazy people know
they are crazy?

Reply #3 - 09/01/04 at 11:55:11

Check this website

http://www.mwaccounting.com/dba/white_paper.htm

it's very easy to link pervasive to ms access

Regards,

Kelloggs

Evo ERP - 35 Users
Dumped MS Access like a hot potato (VB.Net rules!!!)
Email WWW   IP Logged
davson
Browser

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

Reply #4 - 09/01/04 at 12:09:46